Technology has completely transformed the way we listen to, purchase, notate, and create music. Most recently, mobile computing devices like the iPad are transforming the entire educational landscape, including music education. The technology section of CMEA provides state conference sessions that focus on technology integration in music education. This webpage also provides links to a variety of resources for music educators and students. Technology continues to advance at an astounding rate; the CMEA technology section serves to keep you well informed of recent developments and how to integrate them into your music classroom.

Free & Nearly Free Internet Resources for Music Educators

Music Theory

Chord Find (chords for keyboard, guitar, & 4-string instruments) chordfind.com

Chord House (chords & scales for keyboard & guitar with audio) www.looknohands.com/chordhouse

Guitarists Reference (extensive chords & scales for guitar) www.guitaristsreference.com

Ricci Adams’ musictheory.net (theory lessons, exercises, other resources) www.musictheory.net

Teoria (music theory website in English & Spanish) www.teoria.com

 

Ear Training

Big Ears (online ear trainer) www.ossmann.com/bigears

Good Ear (multiple choice quiz format ear training) www.good-ear.com/servlet/EarTrainer

Interactive Sites for Students & Teaching

BBC Changing Sounds Activity (interactive high & low pitch and volume level instruments)

      www.bbc.co.uk/schools/scienceclips/ages/9_10/changing_sounds_fs.shtml

Dallas Symphony Orchestra DSOKids (engaging games, composers, & instruments) www.dsokids.com

Interactive Sound Lab (see the shape & hear the sound of different waveforms)

            library.thinkquest.org/19537/java/Wave.html

Nashville Symphony Orchestra Teacher Resources www.nashvillesymphony.org/ypccurriculum

New York Philharmonic Kids Zone www.nyphilkids.org/main.phtml

PBS String Thing (interactive string sound production lessons & demos)

      pbskids.org/designsquad/games/string_thing/index.html

San Francisco Symphony Kids Site (interactive & engaging site) www.sfskids.org

SoundJunction (interactive & varied resource for teachers & students) www.soundjunction.org

Lessons & Instructional Resources

ArtsEdge at the Kennedy Center  (Lessons, How To’s, Standards) www.artsedge.kennedy-center.org

Berklee Shares.com (free lessons & resources from Berklee College of Music) www.berkleeshares.com

CareersInMusic.com www.careersinmusic.com

Experience Music! highered.mcgraw-hill.com/sites/0072462442/student_view0/index.html

Free Guitar Videos.com (extensive range of free instructional video lessons) www.freeguitarvideos.com

Harmonic Vision (Music Ace Maestro music education software: Free PDF booklet downloads: Using Music Technology in the Classroom and Guide to Using Technology in the Piano Studio) www.harmonicvision.com

JamesFrankel.com (wide range of lesson plans by grade level) www.jamesfrankel.com/lesson_plans.html

Lancaster Symphony Orchestra Educational Resources

      www.lancastersymphony.org/CommunityEngagement/ClassroomResources.aspx

Music Tech Teacher (extensive lesson & quiz resources) www.musictechteacher.com

Musical Instrument Museum Educator Resources www.themim.org/education/educator-resources

PianoLessons.com (extensive free video lessons for piano and keyboards) www.pianolessons.com

Roland V-Drums Lessons (free V-Drum video lessons) www.rolandus.com/go/v-drums_lessons

SonicFit.com (ear training & sight singing exercises, lessons, & tutorials)  http://sonicfit.com

Virtual Instrument Museum (Instruments from around the world) learningobjects.wesleyan.edu/vim

 

Music Notation

Finale NotePad 2012 (Free) www.finalemusic.com/notepad/default.aspx

MuseScore (Free WYSIWYG music notation – cross-platform application) musescore.org

NoteFlight (online music notation – free basic version) www.noteflight.com

Tux Guitar (multitrack guitar tab editor & player) tuxguitar.herac.com.ar

Grading & Assessment

JupiterGrades (online grading software with attendance, contact info, seating chart) jupitergrades.com

SmartMusic (subscription-based interactive performance exercise & assessment) www.smartmusic.com

Music Creating, Recording & Production (MIDI and/or Digital Audio)

Acid Xpress (music creation and mixing software) www.acidplanet.com/downloads/xpress

Ardour Digital Audio Workstation ardour.org

Audacity (multitrack audio recording with effects cross-platform application) audacity.sourceforge.net

Audio Tool (online music creation) www.audiotool.com

Creating Music (children's online creative music environment) www.creatingmusic.com

Frinika (complete music workstation software) frinika.appspot.com

GarageBand (free with all new Macs) www.apple.com/ilife/garageband

JamStudio (create music online) www.jamstudio.com

Mixcraft 5 (“GarageBand” for the PC) www.acoustica.com/mixcraft

MU.LAB Free (music studio software) www.mutools.com/mulab-downloads.html

RiffWorks T4 (easy-to-use guitar recording software) www.sonomawireworks.com/T4

Traverso DAW (multitrack audio recording and editing) traverso-daw.org

Music, Video, Podcasts, & CD Burning

iTunes (free download: Mac & Windows) www.apple.com/itunes

Print Music Sources

Band Music PDF Library (free downloads in PDF format) www.bandmusicpdf.org

Classical Archives (largest classical site on the Internet) www.classicalarchives.com

Choral Public Domain Library (free choral sheet music) www1.cpdl.org/wiki/index.php/Main_Page

Historic American Sheet Music (19th & early 20th century) scriptorium.lib.duke.edu/sheetmusic

Utilities & More…

Fingering-Charts.com (free basic PDF fingering charts) www.fingering-charts.com

HandBrake (DVD ripping cross platform application) handbrake.fr

Metronome Online (free online metronome) www.metronomeonline.com

Micro Marching League (online marching band drill design) micromarching.com

Organizations – Technology in Education

ATMI (The Association for Technology in Music Education) atmionline.org

iste NETS (International Society for Technology in Education National Technology Standards) cnets.iste.org

TI:ME (Technology Institute for Music Educators) www.ti-me.org

Free & Very Affordable Apps for Music Educators

*iPod=iPod Touch

Music Education: Theory, Ear Training

Karajan Beginner: iPad, iPod, iPhone (free theory & ear-training) www.karajan-eartrainer.com/en

Karajan Advanced: iPad, iPod, iPhone (theory & ear-training) www.karajan-eartrainer.com/en

Theory Lessons: iPad, iPod, iPhone (music theory lessons) www.musictheory.net/products

Tenuto: iPad, iPod, iPhone (theory exercises & trainers) www.musictheory.net/products

Nota: iPhone, iPad (music theory tools) notaapp.com

Virtual Instruments

GarageBand: iPad, iPod, iPhone (great set of contemporary instruments) www.apple.com/apps/garageband

Wi Orchestra: iPad, iPod, iPhone (free orchestra & concert band instruments) www.wallanderinstruments.com

Pro Keys: iPad, iPod, iPhone (multi-instrumental keyboard) beepstreet.com/prokeys

2in1 Piano HD: iPad, iPod, iPhone (2 studio-quality piano sounds; free) www.50in1piano.com

50in1 Piano HD: iPad, iPod, iPhone (multi-instrumental keyboard) www.50in1piano.com

iAmGuitar: iPad, iPod, iPhone (3 guitar types, strummed chords) www.savageapps.com/wp/?projects=iamguitar

Ratatap Drums: iPad, iPod, iPhone (drum & percussion instruments; free version with ads) ratatapdrums.com

Hand Drums 2.0: iPad, iPod, iPhone (20 different hand drums) itunes.apple.com/us/app/hand-drums

Accordéon: iPad, iPhone, Andriod (classic looking & sounding accordion) accordion.akomarov.com

Melody Bell: iPad, iPod, iPhone (handbells) www.conit.co.jp/bell

Zampoña: iPad, iPod, iPhone, andriod (panpipe; free) www.zampona.org/#

Synthesizers

Kid Synth: iPad (synthesizer designed for kids; free) kidsappworld.com/kid-synth-ipad

Novation Launchkey: iPad (analog modeling synthesizer; free) us.novationmusic.com/software/launchkey-app

Core Synth HD: iPad (virtual analog monophonic synth; free) itunes.apple.com/us/app/core-synth-hd

SSSSYNTH: iPad (virtual analog monophonic synth; free) www.sobal.co.jp/s4/archives/295

Magellan: iPad (virtual analog modeling duel-synth) www.yonac.com/magellan

Korg iKaossilator: iPad, iPod, iPhone (X-Y pad for expressive musical control) www.korg.com/ikaossilator

iMini: iPad (classic Minimoog synthesizer recreation) www.arturia.com/evolution/en/products/iMini/intro.html

Animoog 2.0: iPad (professional synth, X/Y space control) www.moogmusic.com/products/apps/animoog-0

Thor for iPad: iPad (iPad version of Reason’s massive Thor synthesizer) www.propellerheads.se/products/thor

Music Notation

Notion: iPad (notation editor & studio-quality playback) www.notionmusic.com/products/notionipad.html

Symphony Pro: iPad (versatile notation & playback) www.symphonypro.net

Progression: iPad (guitar tab & standard notation) www.notionmusic.com/products/progressionipad.html

Guitar Pro: iPad, iPod, iPhone (guitar tab notation) www.guitar-pro.com

Music Production & Recording

JamPad: iPad (4 track digital jamming machine for the iPad; free) itunes.apple.com/us/app/jampad-plus

GarageBand: iPad (multi-track recording with virtual instruments) www.apple.com/apps/garageband

FourTrack: iPad, iPod, iPhone (multitrack audio recorder) www.sonomawireworks.com/iphone/fourtrack

Music Studio: iPad, iPod, iPhone (free lite version) www.xewton.com/musicstudio/overview

Effects Processors

AmpKit: iPad, iPod, iPhone (guitar amp & effects studio; free) agilepartners.com/apps/ampkit

Amplitude for iPad: iPad (guitar/bass, multi-effects processor) www.ikmultimedia.com/products/amplitubeipad

StompBox: iPad (effects unit, guitar tuner, metronome, loop recording) www.4pocketsaudio.com

Music Readers

Finale SongBook: iPad (free; displays Finale & PDF files) www.finalemusic.com/products/finale-songbook

Avid Scorch: iPad (interactive Sibelius scores) www.sibelius.com/products/avid_scorch

ForScore: iPad (PDF format, annotate, setlists, rearrange pages, add bookmarks) www.forscoreapp.com

GigBook 2.0: iPad (PDF format, powerful organizing features) deepdishdesigns.com/gigbook.html

iReal b: iPad, iPod, iPhone (interactive chord charts, rhythm section accompaniment) www.irealb.com

My Lyric Book: iPad, iPod, iPhone (song lyrics library, setlists) itunes.apple.com/us/app/my-lyric-book

Practice Aids, Lessons

Recorder Master: iPad 2 or later (game-like recorder lessons; free) www.joytunes.com/media-recorder.php

E-Guitar HD: iPad (folk, blues, & jazz guitar lessons) itunes.apple.com/us/app/e-guitar-hd

Slow Down Music Trainer: iPad, iPod, iPhone (slow down or speed up audio playback without changing the pitch) www.santacruzintegration.com/MusicTrainer.html

SmartMusic: iPad (free, but requires subscription; practice & assessment) www.smartmusic.com/mobile

Resource Guides & Libraries

Fingering for iPad: iPad (interactive fingerings for brass & woodwinds) patrickqkelly.com

Fingering Strings: iPad (Interactive fingerings for orchestral stringed instruments) patrickqkelly.com

Instruments in Reach Basic: iPad, iPod, iPhone (fingerings for wind instruments) musicinreach.com/music-apps

Guitar Chord Basic: iPad, iPod, iPhone (free; basic guitar chords) itunes.apple.com/us/app/guitar-chord-basic

All Guitar Chords: iPad, iPod, iPhone (free; guitar chords & scales) www.myappcatalog.com/ios-guitarists-reference.php

SweetWords: iPad, iPod, iPhone (free music tech dictionary) www.sweetwater.com/insync/sweetwords

The History of Jazz: iPad (an interactive timeline) www.955dreams.com/products.html#

Sound Uncovered: iPad (free; an interactive book) www.exploratorium.edu/explore/apps/sound-uncovered

The Guitar Collection–George Harrison: iPad (detailed history of his guitars) georgeharrison.com

 

Utilities

A.P.S. MusicMaster Pro: iPad (tuner, metronome, glossaries & more) apsdevelopmentllc.com/musicmasterpro

Pro Metronome: iPad, iPod, iPhone (free) eumlab.com/pro-metronome

Visual Metronome: iPad, iPod, iPhone (large visual display) www.onemoremuse.com/products/VisualMetronome

TonalEnergy Tuner: iPad, iPod, iPhone (multi-feature tuner, metronome…) tonalenergy.com/products/te-tuner

ClearTune: iPad, iPod, iPhone (chromatic tuner) www.bitcount.com/products

iStroboSoft: iPad, iPod, iPhone (tuner, 1/10th cent accuracy) www.petersontuners.com/index.cfm?category=175

Decibel 10th: iPad, iPod, iPhone (free dB sound level meter) itunes.apple.com/us/app/decibel-10th

Audio Tool: iPad, iPod, iPhone (pro-level audio test & acoustical analysis) www.studiosixdigital.com/audiotools

Remote Control

DAW Remote HD: iPad (full wireless control of digital audio workstations) eumlab.com/daw-remote-hd

iRig MIDI Recorder: iPad, iPod, iPhone (free; requires iRig MIDI interface) www.ikmultimedia.com/products/irigmidirecorder

iP Touch for Logic Pro: iPad (for Apple’s Logic Pro DAW) www.delora.com/delora_products/lptouch/lptouch.html

VLC Remote–for VLC Media Player: iPad, iPod, iPhone (free version has ads & fewer features) hobbyistsoftware.com/ipad/vlc-more

Presentation, Productivity, Administration, General Utilities

Prezi for iPad: iPad (free presentation app) prezi.com/ipad

Keynote: iPad, iPod, iPhone (presentation app) www.apple.com/apps/iwork/keynote

Pages: iPad, iPod, iPhone (word processor) www.apple.com/apps/iwork/pages

Attendance2: iPad, iPod, iPhone (flexible, easy-to-use attendance app) www.dave256apps.com/attendance2

GradeBook Pro: iPad, iPod, iPhone (complete classroom management tool) gradebookapp.com

Flashlight o: iPad, iPod, iPhone (free; flashlight & compass) www.ihandysoft.com/apps.html#@

iBooks: iPad, iPod, iPhone (free; e-book reader & library) www.apple.com/apps/ibooks

iTunes U: iPad, iPod, iPhone (free) www.apple.com/education/ipad/itunes-u

Printer Pro: iPad (print iPad documents over wireless network) readdle.com/products/printerpro_ipad

Hearing Loss Simulator: iPad (simulates the sound for various levels of hearing loss) itunes.apple.com/us/app/hearing-loss-simulator

Calculator Pro for iPad: iPad (free version has pop-up ads) www.apalon.com/calculator_pro.html

Multi Measures HD: iPad (metronome, dB meter, timer, stop watch…) www.skypaw.com/apps/multimeasures/ipad