NAfME Celebrates 50th Anniversary of NASPAAM with Resolution

On June 22, 2022, NAfME President Scott R. Sheehan announced at the 2022 National Leadership Assembly in Reston, Virginia, that NAfME would formally recognize the 50th anniversary of the National Association for the Study and Performance of African American Music (NASPAAM) with a resolution celebrating the milestone. Present at the announcement were NASPAAM president Marsha Kindall-Smith, past president and founder Ted McDaniel, and past president George E. Allen, along with the NAfME National Executive Board, the chairs of the NAfME Societies and Councils, and the presidents of the NAfME federated state music education associations.

“We had the privilege to honor the leaders from NASPAAM as they celebrated their 50th anniversary,” said Sheehan. “The celebration felt just as profound as it was historic during the 2022 NAfME National Leadership Assembly. In many ways it was like a homecoming of sorts, but we also recognize the role that the harmful actions of NAfME, then MENC, had in the founding of NASPAAM five decades ago. Although we are just beginning to forge a new relationship, the leaders of NAfME and NASPAAM are confident we will find ways to support one another, and NASPAAM will always have a place to belong at NAfME. I look forward to what the future holds for both of our associations.”

Read the NAfME Resolution Celebrating and Honoring the 50th Anniversary of the National Association for the Study and Performance of African American Music.

NAfME 2020 Student Composition Competitions

2020 Composition & Songwriting Competition

Every year the National Association for Music Education (NAfME) sponsors a student composition competition providing students the opportunity to submit original songs for future performance. Cash prizes were awarded to winners and honorable mentions and all entrants received written evaluations of their compositions. This year, NAfME added a Student Songwriters category for K–12 students. 

Several California student entries received Honorable mentions, as well as a winner in the Electronic Music Competition category. Let’s congratulate our CMEA students and teachers for their recognition on a National stage!

Click on the titles to listen to the music

Student Songwriters Category

High School Honorable Mention
Chole Borsody
Oakwood School, Gilroy, CA
Steve Potter, teacher

Electronic Music Composition Category

High School Honorable Mention
Madeline Cahill
Time Machine
New Roads School, Los Angeles, CA
Stephen Billington, teacher

Collegiate Winner
Estevan Olmos
California State University, Fresno

Collegiate Honorable Mention
Daniel Cobo
You’ll Never Get To Heaven
Azusa Pacific University

Student Composers

High School Honorable Mention
Krishna Mandal
Pacific Voyage
Benicia High School, Benicia, CA
Patrick Martin, teacher

Learn more